Wednesday, 13 November 2013

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine. Here is the book that I am cant wait to get my hands on.

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

Publication Date: Jan 14 2014
Publisher: Quirk Books
Series: Miss Peregrine's Children - Book 2

Synopsis from goodreads:

Not going to include the synopsis as I dont want to give away any spoilers incase people haven't read the first book. I am so excited to find out what happens next to Jacob and his friends after the cliffhanger ending of the first book.

I'm Back

Ok so I would just like to say that I am so sorry that this blog hasn't been updated for over a year. The reason for the severe lack of updates has been down to 2 things, the 1st thing is that I have been battling severe depression so I lost interest in reading (thats the worst thing for a book addict to admit) and the 2nd thing is that I started to recieve nasty emails telling me that I was the worst book reviewer ever and that my blog wasn't worth reading so due to the hate mail I decided to take some time off and have spent the last year considering whether or not to update this blog or start a new one.

I have decided to continue with this blog as I wasn't going to let some nasty person destroy the one thing that I have enjoyed doing since I was 5 years old and that is talk about books.

So now that I have explained the reasons why I hadn't updated this blog I would like to say that I am back reading and buying books, much to the "delight" of my poor wife who really needs a medal for putting up with me this past year.

In my next post I will be showcasing all the books that I have brought in the last 2 weeks.

I will also be making some changes to the blog as well.

So in the meantime happy reading......

Thursday, 12 July 2012

Apologises for lack of updates

I would just like to apologise for not updating this blog in over 7 months. I don’t really have a good enough excuse for why i haven’t. I guess if I was to give an explanation it would be that I haven’t really been focussed on my reading as I would have liked to have been.  In fact I hadn’t read a single book in the past 7 months, that was until I decided to read Adrian Mole The Wilderness Years by Sue Townsend and as if by magic I was back into reading.

So now I’m back and more eager than ever to make this blog as successful as I can make it. The first thing I am planning on doing is giving the blog a new look.The next change I am going to be making to this blog is that I am going to be reviewing a mixture of genres, the reason for this is because I have an eclectic taste in books and want to reflect that in the reviews that I bring you. The other important change will be the frequency of my reviews. Before I would rush through as many books as I could within the week and then rush the reviews out, well that is going to change. I am only going to be posting 1-2 reviews a week the main reason for me doing this is because I want to bring you reviews that will be insightful.

Well I think I’ve rambled on long enough. I would like to say thank you to everyone that is still following this blog. Hopefully you will be pleased with the changes that are coming and will come back in the next couple of days to find out what I thought to Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris, book 1 in the Sookie Stackhouse Novels.

Until then Happy Reading


Wednesday, 28 December 2011

Waiting on Wednesday #7

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.  Here are the books that I am most look forward to reading.

Night School by Chrisiti Daugherty

UK Publication Date: 5 Jan 2012
Publisher: Atom
Pages: 320

Synopsis from

When everyone is lying, who can you trust?

Allie Sheridan's world is falling apart. She hates her school. Her brother has run away from home. And she's just been arrested. Again. This time her parents have finally had enough. They cut her off from her friends and send her away to a boarding school for problem teenagers. But Cimmeria Academy is no ordinary school. It allows no computers or phones. Its students are an odd mixture of the gifted, the tough and the privileged. And then there's the secretive Night School, whose activities other students are forbidden even to watch. When Allie is attacked one night the school begins to seem like a very dangerous place, Allie must learn who she can trust. And what's really going on at Cimmeria Academy.

Tuesday, 13 December 2011

In My Mailbox #3

In My Mailbox is an event hosted by The Story Siren

Books I Brought This Week:

This is another 18 books.

Saturday, 10 December 2011

Review: Glass Houses by Rachel Caine

Glass Houses by Rachel Caine

UK Publication Date: 26 May 2008
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Pages: 361
Series: The Morganville Vampires #1
Format: Paperback
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Vampires, Young Adult
Rating: 4 out of 5

Morganville is a small town filled with unusual characters - when the sun goes down, the bad come out. In Morganville, there is an evil that lurks in the darkest shadows - one that will spill out into the bright light of day.

For Claire Danvers, high school was hell, but college may be murder. It was bad enough that she got on the wrong side of Monica, the meanest of the school's mean girls, but now she's got three new roommates, who all have secrets of their own. And the biggest secret of all isn't really a secret, except from Claire: Morganville is run by vampires, and they are hungry for fresh blood...

Glass Houses tells the story of Claire Danvers, a brainy 16 year old, who has been sent to college in Morganville by her parents. Not only is Claire the youngest college student in Morganville, she is also having a hard time making friends. This isn't made any easier as she has to share a dorm with girls that torment her for just being her.

Claire, realising that she's had enough of dorm life, decides to try living off campus. After looking a few different places, she finds an advertisement for a roommate at the Glass House. But what Claire doesn't realise is that the occupants of the Glass House have secrets of their own.

Once Claire moves in the story really picks up and doesn't stop until its shocking climax.

I found Glass Houses to be an interesting read, with characters that I both loved and hated at the same time. Rachel Caine has created a intriguing and mysterious town that I cannot wait to find out more about.

I recommend this book to fans of vampire novels.
(please note this review was written back in November, but was never published on the blog.)

Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

UK Publication Date: 15 September 2011
Publisher: Harvill Secker
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Literary Fiction, Fantasy, Romance
Rating: 5 out of 5

In 1886, a mysterious travelling circus becomes an international sensation. Open only at night, constructed entirely in black and white, Le Cirque des Reves delights all who wander its circular paths and warm themselves at its bonfire.

Although there are acrobats, fortune-tellers and contortionists, the Circus of Dreams is no conventional spectacle. Some tents contain clouds, some ice. The circus seems almost to cast a spell over its afficionados, who call themselves the reveurs - the dreamers. At the heart of the story is the tangled relationship between two young magicians, Celia, the enchanter's daughter, and Marco, the sorcerer's apprentice. At the behest of their shadowy masters, they find themselves locked in a deadly contest, forced to test the very limits of the imagination, and their love.

The Night Circus is a book that only comes around once or twice a year, by this I mean it’s a book that captivates the reader so much that you can’t help thinking about it when you’re not reading it.This happen all the time for me.

I first became aware of this book whilst visiting my local bookstore and overheard a conversation between the assistant and a customer. He was basically asking her if she could recommend a really good book, and of course this was the book that she recommended. So being a curious person I had to have a look for myself.

The cover was mesmerizing.  I had never seen a cover that was black and white, with only a splash of red. When I picked it up and read the blurb I didn’t think it would be for me, but I decided to give it a go and I am so pleased that I did.

No sooner had I opened the book and read the first paragraph:

The circus arrives without warning.
No announcements precede it, no paper notices on downtown posts and billboards, no mentions or advertisements in local newspapers.  It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

I was hooked. It took me back to the first time I visited the circus as a child. The mysterious tents, the strange sounds and the strangely dressed people. But the circus that I saw as a child was nothing like this one.

But you haven’t come to read about my childhood you’ve come for the review and so here it is. Erin Morgenstern has created a story that captivates the reader from beginning to end. She has created a world that is truly believable. Whilst reading I felt that I was really there seeing the circus, smelling the caramel popcorn. There are so many characters in this book, the circus being one of them that I would be lying if I said I didn’t like them all.

The story does tend to jump between different time periods, which can be a bit confusing at times, but I found this really interesting.It reminded me a lot of The Time Travellers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, who is quoted on the cover of the book as saying ‘This is a marvelous read’ and ‘The Night Circus made me happy. Playful and intensely imaginative, Erin Morgenstern has created the circus I have always longed for.’

I will admit that I totally agree with her. Not only are the characters believable but Erin Morgenstern’s writing style is so lyrical. At times I thought I should be reading this book aloud. I guess this is helped by the fact that Erin is also a painter.

The Night Circus is a must read for anyone who is looking to escape into a world of magic, fantasy and romance. If this review hasn’t wetted your appetite to read it. Take a look at the book trailer.